The Taco Gods Lead Me Toward Salvation

Guys, I’ve made a terrible mistake. Ever since I moved into my quaint ‘hood of Crown Heights, my go-to Mexican joint was Chavela’s partially because there is always a good crowd there, the tacos are pretty delicious, they have a good happy hour, and they serve margaritas on tap. But primarily because it is a block away from my apartment and I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like convenience.

Well, scratch that. Last week I decided to mix it up with my friend D. and went to Gueros, a whole two blocks away from my humble abode. And BAM, that was one of the best food decisions I’ve made recently. I’ve actually been on quite a food binge recently and I’ve made some excellent food decisions in the past week. But, I digress…

Photo credit: Scarlett Lindeman for newyork.seriouseats.com

Roasted vegetable and fried avocado tacos. Photo credit: Scarlett Lindeman, newyork.seriouseats.com

We both ordered large margaritas that were far tastier than the overly sweet, flat-soda tasting margaritas at Chavela’s. They also serve a frozen version perfect for the hot summer months. I was starving, so can therefore say with no sense of embarrassment that I ordered three tacos while my male counterpart only ordered two. The blackened catfish taco is out-of-this-world delicious, with piping hot fish and garnished with lettuce, chipotle mayo, and pico de gallo. The brisket taco is chock-full of tender meat, cheddar, rajas, roasted onion, au jus, and green salsa. For my third, I went veggie with the fried avocado and jalapeno taco. This was gigantic, with perfectly crispy yet creamy avocado, refried beans, lettuce, jalapeno buttermilk, cheddar, pico de gallo, and the zing of fried pickled jalapenos. It was a party in my mouth.

Although Gueros lacks in the atmosphere department, they do have a small outdoor space with tables on the sidewalk that makes up for the cramped, noisy interior. All-in-all, a far better taqueria than my old haunt Chavela’s, with nearly identical, affordable (dare I say cheap?) prices.

I just made myself hungry. Margarita’s anyone?

Leave a Reply

