Chicken wing, chicken wing

Chicken wings are the perfect football season platter, but my buds and I also like to indulge in them year-around (usually when we’re out having a pint). Dive bars are usually the go-to, like the 10¢ and 20¢ wings from Croxley’s, or trying our hand at the fire-hot Chongqing chicken wings at Mission Chinese Food (their menu just rocks my socks off in general).

Pineapple jerk chicken wing combo with corn salad and sweat potato wedges.

Pineapple jerk chicken wing combo with corn salad and sweat potato wedges.

Ginger buff wings combo with corn salad and zucchini fritters.

Ginger buff wings combo with corn salad and zucchini fritters.

However, I recently stumbled across a new chicken wing joint a short wing’s-throw away from my apartment and perfect for a Saturday/Sunday hangover (I was hungover when I made the discovery) or just a regular ol’ meal. Super Wings in Crown Heights, Brooklyn incorporates the Caribbean flavor of the neighborhood to serve up delicious chicken wings with ten different sauces. On my first go, I ordered a ginger buff combo with a side of corn salad and zucchini fritters, and a pineapple jerk combo with a side of salad and sweet potato slices. The ginger buff wings, which are supposed to be mild/medium heat were delicious, but the pineapple jerk wings which are supposed to be one of the hottest on the menu, were slightly lacking in the heat department.

Chicken wing, chicken wing

Hot dogs and bologna

Chicken and macaroni

Chillin’ with my homies.

With their variety of sides, including mac ‘n cheese, spinach bites or rice, chickpea fritters, mango or pineapple salads, and potato wedges, there are tons of combos to make. The wings at Super Wings apparently even “slayed” Iron Chef Bobby Flay in a Spicy Chicken Wing throw down. I personally can’t wait to go through all the flavors. My perfect little wing restaurant in Crown Heights.

Leave a Reply

