Summer Sail With Alphabet City Beer Co.

On a beautiful Saturday, I donned my finest marine attire and set sail on the fourth Alphabet City Beer Co. sunset cruise with three beautiful ladies and unlimited craft beers from Narragansett brewery.

Members of the Ventura sailing crew at sunset with Manhattan in the background.

Members of the Ventura sailing crew at sunset with Manhattan in the background.

We boarded the Ventura, a 100-foot sailing yacht built in 1919, around 6:30pm for a three-hour trip around New York Harbor. East Village-based Alphabet City Beer Co. throws these nautical soirees every other week in the summer with unlimited beers from a sponsored brewery (this past weekend Narragansett had the honor), and delicious sandwiches made from local meats and cheeses.

With a blow horn from a giant conch, the ladies and I (along with about 20 other guests) set sail from North Cove Marina on the beautiful wooden ship. I won’t pretend I’m an expert at New York Harbor geography, but I do know we passed Ellis Island, the Statue of Liberty, and Governors Island. We had great seats right under the main sail to take in the scenery and sunset, and snuggled down under blankets provided by the Ventura crew after the sun set for games and laughter. We wrapped up the trip by passing as close as we could to Lady Liberty, which is a sight to behold and one that I had not seen close up since an 8th grade field trip to New York City.

My friend Anna and I holding some delicious Narragansetts.

My friend Anna and I with our ‘gansetts.

Alphabet City Beer Co. has two more sailing dates coming up, so get tickets before the summer is over! Regular tickets are $60, and well worth the price if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

